Hacking Darwin

Hacking Darwin Book Details:

Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN-13 : 1492670103

Page : 352 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 103 voters

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." — Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Gene Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene. After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules... From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives — sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

More Books:

Hacking Darwin
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Jamie Metzl
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-23 - Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." — Siddhartha Mukh
Summary of Hacking Darwin by Jamie Metzl
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: QuickRead
Categories: Study Aids
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: QuickRead.com

Notice: This is a Summary & Analysis of Hacking Darwin. THIS IS NOT THE ORIGINAL BOOK. How technology can help us to hack our genetic makeup. We tend to think o
SUMMARY - Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering And The Future Of Humanity By Jamie Metzl
Language: en
Pages: 35
Authors: Shortcut Edition
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-22 - Publisher: Shortcut Edition

* Our summary is short, simple and pragmatic. It allows you to have the essential ideas of a big book in less than 30 minutes. As you read this summary, you wil
Modifying Our Genes
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Alexander Massmann
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-31 - Publisher: SCM Press

If our bodies could do more things, would our lives be better? Genome editing is a rapidly developing technology that can modify human genes. It can cure herita
The Science and Technology of Growing Young
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Sergey Young
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-24 - Publisher: BenBella Books

Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller The prospect of living to 200 years old isn’t science fiction anymore. A leader in the emergi
The Art of Living for A Technological Age
Language: en
Pages: 225
Authors: Ashley John Moyse
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-23 - Publisher: Fortress Press

The Art of Living for A Technological Age sketches the crisis of our late modern age, where persons are enamored by the promises of progress and disciplined to
Women and Reproductive Technologies
Language: en
Pages: 162
Authors: Annette Burfoot
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-16 - Publisher: Routledge

A sociological and historical study of the development of reproductive technologies, this book focuses on key technological developments through a biomedicaliza
Trampled by Unicorns
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Maelle Gavet
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-06 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller An insider’s revealing and in-depth examination of Big Tech’s failure to keep its foundational promises and the steps the i
Humankind 2.0
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: James Ward
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-21 - Publisher: Cool Millennium

It’s early 2020. MI7 is expecting an eccentric new recruit in the person of Chasha Jones, self-described (only partly tongue-in-cheek) as "the most intelligen
Catch-42: A novel about our future
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Felix Holzapfel
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-13 - Publisher: Quovabiz Inc.

A glimpse of a future that may be right around the corner. Tech thriller Catch-42 offers a mind-blowing tour of potential uses for AI, biotech, quantum computin